BALPA is governed by an Annual Delegate Conference (ADC) made up of representatives of the Company Councils and a National Executive Council composed of elected pilots.

The National Executive Council (NEC) is the elected body that is responsible for the association. As well as generating policy and association strategy, the NEC ensures that the organisation is run in an efficient, legal and responsible manner.


Brendan O'Neal

BALPA Executive President

British Airways

Paul Naylor

BALPA Executive Vice President, Organisation Committee Chairman


John Bell

Industrial Relations Committee

Bristow Helicopters

Conor Convey

Membership & Careers Services Committee Chairman

Martin Drake

Flight Safety Committee

British Airways

Andrew Hammond

Legal Services Sub Committee Chairman

British Airways

Dane Handley

Communications & External Relations Committee

Thomas Cook

Jerry Kinder

Industrial Relations Committee

Virgin Atlantic

Leo Nugent

Industrial Relations Committee Chairman


Tim Pottage

Communications & External Relations Committee Chairman

British Airways

Rich Pullen

Flight Safety Committee Chairman

British Airways

James O'Brien

Industrial Relations Committee

British Airways

Paul Monaghan


Will Isherwood-Smith