BALPA is governed by an Annual Delegate Conference (ADC) made up of representatives of the Company Councils and a National Executive Council composed of elected pilots.

The National Executive Council (NEC) is the elected body that is responsible for the association. As well as generating policy and association strategy, the NEC ensures that the organisation is run in an efficient, legal and responsible manner.


Paul Naylor

BALPA Executive President


Tim Pottage

BALPA Executive Vice-President, Flight Safety Sub-Committee Chairman

British Airways

Brian Strutton

BALPA General Secretary

BALPA Ex-officio, non-voting

James O'Brien

Industrial Relations Sub-Committee Chairman

British Airways

Conor Convey

Membership & Careers Services Sub-Committee Chairman

Virgin Atlantic

Andrew Hammond

Legal Sub-Committee Chairman

British Airways

Dane Handley

Organisation Sub-Committee Chairman

Simon Williams

Communications & External Relations Sub-Committee Chairman


John Bell

Flight Safety Sub-Committee

Bristow Helicopters

Andrea Brezonakova

Industrial Relations Sub-Committee


Will Isherwood-Smith

Membership and Career Services Sub-Committee


Mark Keane

Organisation Sub-Committee

British Airways

Enda Ryan

Communications & External Relations Sub-Committee

Hugh Sheils

Industrial Relations Sub-Committee